Readers ask: Where Is Vernon County Wisconsin?

What is the least populated county in Wisconsin?

Menominee County is a county in the U.S. state of Wisconsin. As of the 2010 census, the population was 4,232 making it the least populous county in Wisconsin.

What county is Vernon WI?

Waukesha County is located in southeastern Wisconsin, directly west of Milwaukee County and 100 miles northwest of Chicago. The County covers 576 square miles and consists of 7 cities, 18 villages, and 12 towns. The Town of Vernon is located in the south central portion of Waukesha County.

Is there a bad AXE County in Wisconsin?

Although you won’t find Bad Axe County on a current map of Wisconsin, Vernon County (located about 90 miles northwest of Dane County ) was known as Bad Ax County until 1862. Sometimes the landscape is more appealing than the despicable people who inhabit Bad Axe County.

Where in Wisconsin is Viroqua?

Viroqua is a town in Vernon County, Wisconsin, United States. The population was 1,560 at the 2000 census. The City of Viroqua is located within the town. Viroqua (town), Wisconsin.

Viroqua, Wisconsin
State Wisconsin
County Vernon
• Total 48.4 sq mi (125.3 km2)
You might be interested:  What Time Is It In Milwaukee Wisconsin Right Now?


What is the oldest county in Wisconsin?

Iowa County was formed in 1829 from the Crawford County land south of the Wisconsin River. Brown County’s southern portion was used to form Milwaukee County in 1834. The state of Wisconsin was created from Wisconsin Territory on May 29, 1848, with 28 counties. List of counties in Wisconsin.

Counties of Wisconsin
Subdivisions cities, villages, towns

What are the five largest counties in Wisconsin?

Looking for a list of cities, counties or zips in Wisconsin?

Rank County Population
1 Milwaukee County 951,226
2 Dane County 536,078
3 Waukesha County 400,475
4 Brown County 261,368


How many counties in Wisconsin are rural?

Wisconsin’s 72 counties are scattered across eight of the nine Rural -Urban Continuum Codes, with only RUCC 5 not present in the state. While the variety of RUCC codes found in Wisconsin suggests a diversity of urban and regional regions, counties within the same RUCC category also may vary considerably.

How many square miles is Vernon County Wisconsin?

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 816 square miles (2,110 km2), of which 792 square miles (2,050 km2) is land and 25 square miles (65 km2) (3.0%) is water.

Is there a burning ban in Vernon County?

The Vernon County Emergency Management released a burn ban has been issued for Vernon County. At this time, there shall be no outdoor burning due to the current situation with COVID-10 in order to keep the Fire Departments safe from any unnecessary responses.

What county is Viroqua WI in?

Viroqua is the county seat of Vernon County and is conveniently located at the intersection of State Highways 14, 27, 61 and 56.

Leave a Reply